databases


ARTstor began as a database of images of artworks intended primarily for the use of artists and art historians, contributed primarily by art museums. It has since grown to a repository of more than 1,000,000 images covering a wide range of periods, countries, media, and topics. It’s still entirely made up of visual resources – you won’t find journal articles about art or art history, for example – but you will find images of interest to many fields with interesting interdisciplinary applications. Some examples include:

Whether your discipline is listed here or not, take some time to explore ARTstor, it is a fascinating storehouse of unique images and objects just waiting for you to put it to use!

For those of you who are (or become) ARTstor aficionados, you can keep up with ARTstor by reading the ARTstor Blog, signing up for email announcements, becoming an ARTstor fan on Facebook, subscribing to the ARTstor RSS feed, or watching ARTstor how-to videos on YouTube!

Following up on the entry about the RefWorks troubleshooting guide, the most common problem users have with Write-n-Cite is that when they try to use it off-campus, they are prompted for the group code.  This generally is solved by completing the downloading process (found on the  WNC tab of the RefWorks Guide). — This second step sets up our Library proxy link on your computer, so you shouldn’t need a group code — on or off-campus. 

proxy_uploaded_image

 

 

 

 

 

 

Picture indicating the steps for adding the proxy Link for the StJ laptop. Note that MAC instructions differ and are listed on the WNC tab of the RefWorks Guide

MedpediaMEDPEDIA, launched February 17, 2009,  is a collaborative online medical “plain English” encyclopedia with a twist — unlike many other wiki-type encyclopedias, only “physicians and PhDs” will be able to directly edit content (after having created an account and been approved as an editor). Those who do not qualify to become an editor can click the “suggest changes” tab in any article, register for an account, and suggest a change in the content of the entry — that suggestion must be approved by an editor before it will be posted.

According to the website, “the Medpedia Project is a long-term, worldwide project to evolve a new model for sharing and advancing knowledge about health, medicine and the body among medical professionals and the general public.” The goal is for the site to be a searchable reference source for medical professionals and the general public.

While not responsible for the content on MEDPEDIA, collaborative partners in the project include Harvard Medical School, Stanford School of Medicine, UC Berkeley School of Public Health, and the University of Michigan School of Medicine.

jstor_logo

The merger JSTOR and Ithaka, two not-for-profit organizations founded by Kevin  Guthrie and dedicated to serving the scholarly community, was announced in a press release dated January 25, 2009.The newly combined organization, to be known as Ithaka, will include JSTOR, Portico, and NITLE.

 

[Originally posted by Maureen Weicher on February 5, 2008]

As an alternative to journal rankings, Faculty of 1000 Medicine and Faculty of 1000 Biology asks experts to rank individual articles as “recommended”, “must read”, and “exceptional”. Though F1000 is a subscription-based site, you should be able to access Hidden Jewels in Medicine and Hidden Jewels in Biology. These are significant articles from less-widely read journals. You should be able to click through to the full text if St. John’s owns it. You won’t be able to read the article evaluations, though.

Roosevelt at White House, December 8, 1941Ken Burn’s newest PBS documentary called “The War,” reminds us how primary sources can help us to see the past more clearly, and really make history come to life. If you are watching the Burns series, studying the crash of the Stock Exchange or reading the “Triangle” book for class…check out some of the historical newspapers that covered the incidents when they happened. Keep in mind that newspaper reporters had to write the stories and get it to press, so be sure to search the few days after an event to make sure you get the most coverage (for example: President Roosevelt’s Message regarding “…day that will live in infamy speech” was delivered on December 8th, 1941 and printed in the Newspaper on December 09, 1941.

The Brooklyn Daily Eagle covers 1851 to 1902. ProQuest Historical Newspapers [How do I? ] Allows you to search several historical newspapers simultaneously, Including Chicago Defender (1905 to 1975); Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908 to 1993); Hartford Courant (1764 to present); New York Times Historical (1851 to 2001); Wall Street Journal Historical (1889 to 1987); Washington Post Historical (1877 to 1988)

You might also check for audio and video files: Ex: Roosevelt’s “fireside chat” before and after Pearl Harbor. Check out Michigan State University’s Vincent Voice Library http://vvl.lib.msu.edu/findingaids.cfm

Picture: Franklin D. Roosevelt at The White House, 12/08/1941 Public Domain, courtesy of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library; The President’s Message. (1941, December 9). New York Times (1857-Current file),1. Retrieved September 25, 2007, from ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 – 2004) database. (Document ID: 105168402).

Ever had a friend email you a link to a newspaper paper article, only to find that the article became part of the newspaper’s archives by the time you got around to reading or forwarding it? Before you spend money to access the article through that newspaper’s archive, check to see whether you have access to the newspaper though your library databases.

This link offers a demonstration on finding a contemporary New York Times article in the St. John’s Libraries’ ProQuest Newspapers database, using the citation information posted in our last blog entry on “Googlebombs”: Cohen, N. (2007, Jan 29). Google halts ‘miserable failure’ link to president bush. New York Times, pp. C.6

For more on searching St. John’s ProQuest Historical Newspapers, click here.

UPDATE: In September 2007, The New York Times made all sections of their online version of the paper available for free; they also made some archive materails — from 1851 to 1922 and 1987 to the present — available without charge. [They still charge for some material from the period 1923 to 1986]. ProQuest Historical database facilitates a federated, indexed search all of the materials, and offers full-text access for all years.

« Previous Page