IMG_5983 Caroline Fuchs

Summer is a great time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress. Reading, of course, is key to all of these. With this in mind, we asked the librarians at St. John’s about books they will be reading over the next few months. The library has put up a display featuring the responses we received — it’s on the 3rd floor of St. Augustine Hall. We’ll be posting the individual entries here throughout the summer.

Caroline Fuchs is an associate professor and Outreach Librarian.  She is also an adjunct professor teaching DNY courses in St. John’s College.  Professor Fuchs writes:

 

 For those in academia, the summer months are often less hectic than those during the semester. It’s a good time to relax a bit and indulge in some leisure reading or to make a dent in that pile of “I-need-to-read-these-books” that has long been sitting and gathering dust on your shelves for oh so many months. What I like to do is revisit my favorite authors – Edith Wharton, Henry James, Jane Austen, Anthony Trollope, George Eliot – and immerse myself in their writing. I read anything and everything they have written, time allowing. For me, the summer of 2013 is the summer of Willa Cather, and I have rediscovered the power of her lyrical writing. Since June I’ve read My Antonia, O Pioneers!, The Song of the Lark and an assortment of short stories. Next up – Death Comes for the Archbishop, Alexander’s Bridge, A Lost Lady, and The Professor’s House.

