anthony

Summer is a great time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress. Reading, of course, is key to all of these. With this in mind, we asked the librarians at St. John’s about books they will be reading over the next few months. The library has put up a display of the answers we received — it’s on the 3rd floor of St. Augustine Hall. We’ll be posting the individual entries here throughout the summer.

Anthony Todman, an associate professor in the Reference Department, writes:

When I visited the New York Public Library in the Bronx as a youth, I seemed to gravitate towards titles about sports. Without a clue to my eventual career choice, my first stop was Dewey Decimal Classification 796– sports.

          So this summer I will go back to an old habit and read The Outsider: A Memoir, by Jimmy Connors, Earl The Pearl: My Story, by Earl Monroe, and Doc: A Memoir, by Dwight Gooden.  I hope and believe that these stories will transcend the sports of tennis, basketball, and baseball respectively, and give personal and honest assessments about life after the cheering is over, while revealing struggles, sacrifices, and flawed personalities behind the persons who are viewed solely as athletes, entertainers, legends, and sports icons.

