Summer – a time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress.  With this in mind, we have asked some faculty members at St. John’s what they are reading this summer.

Dr. Flora Keshishian, an Assistant Professor in the Department of Rhetoric, Communication and Theatre, writes:

Like most faculty members, I often read books and articles that are directly related to my teaching and research. They all contribute to improving my understanding of the world. But, sometimes, not as frequently as I would like to, I also like to read books that have the potential to transform my life.

Eat, Pray, Love, by Elizabeth Gilbert (Penguin Books, 2006), is a book I’m planning to read this summer as I travel to Armenia (for teaching, research, and family visit). It’s light reading that I hope will paint an imaginary journey, which will guide me to a more balanced life for myself– something that Gilbert claims she achieved through her actual journey to Italy, India, and Indonesia. I look forward to reading the book and then watching the movie (due in summer, 2010) and see how they match my imagination.

