Summer – a time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress.  With this in mind, we have asked some faculty members at St. John’s what they are reading this summer.

Dr. Robert Eschenauer, an Assistant Professor in the Department of Human Services and Counseling and Director of the Counselor Education Program, writes:

One book I will be reading this summer is Dr. Daniel Siegel‘s The Mindful Therapist. I am always looking for ways to improve the ways that I do and teach psychotherapy.  In addition I have an interest in neuroscience.  This book has been acclaimed as synthesizing both psychotherapy and neuroscience into a scholarly, scientifically grounded and evidenced-based approach.  I cannot afford to ignore such a text and so I will be looking for the wisdom that it presents with the expectation that it will enlighten both my teaching and professional practice.

 

