Summer – a time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress.  With this in mind, we have asked some faculty members at St. John’s what they are reading this summer.

Dr. Robert Mangione, Dean of of the School of Pharmacy and Allied Heath Professions writes:

One of the books that I plan to read this summer is America’s Mayor: John V. Lindsay and the Reinvention of New York,  edited by Sam Roberts (Columbia University Press). John Lindsay served as mayor during a very challenging time in our city’s history. I look forward to learning more about his leadership values, vision for the city, and how he confronted his failures and achieved his successes. I remember meeting him in the summer of 1972 at a barbeque at Gracie Mansion (I was 18 years old at the time). My recollection from that encounter many years ago is that he was a very gracious, kind and charismatic person. It will be interesting for me to learn what effect this book will have on my memories of this interesting and controversial mayor.

