Summer – a time for catching up, relaxing, exploring, starting new projects, or perhaps completing work in progress.  With this in mind, we have asked some faculty members at St. John’s what they are reading this summer.

Dr. Maura Flannery, Professor of Biology in the Department of Computer Science, Mathematics & Science and Director of the Center for Teaching & Learning,  writes:

One of the books I plan to savor this summer is Elegance in Science: The Beauty of Simplicity by Ian Glynn.  I’m interested in the aesthetics of biology so this book is right up my alley.  It deals with elegance in all the sciences, using a number of examples including ones from the neurosciences and DNA research. 

 I don’t think this is going to be an easy read, but judging by the reviews it seems to be well-written so it will be worth the effort.  Best of all, I received a copy as a gift from my son, so I didn’t even have to buy it.

